what shapes us?

Do you remember your childhood? The good times you had with your parents, the bad times and the in between times?

The times when everything you ask for mommy says no she can’t afford it and Daddy not around?

Some children don’t know how some parents have to make bread out of stone. 

Looking back now I realise that my childhood was not as bad as I thought it to be.

I have moved from childhood to adulthood and nothing much has changed other than the added responsibilities of caring for my self. 

As if that was not enough I now have been elevated from adulthood to adult-parenthood.  I can tell you I had no idea what I was getting into.  You think caring for yourself is a lot of responsibility?  Try taking care of a family. (Wife, kids, cows, goats, sheep, dogs….) You get the idea. Each one depending on you to provide their daily upkeep. 

What keeps us going in times like these? What drives us to keep working and providing for those we love and cherish?  What really shapes our personality and makes us who we are?

I really would not like to see my kids go through the hard times I went through. 

What I did not have they must have. 

3 thoughts on “what shapes us?

  1. Remember in your quest to provide all that you did not have for your children, that what they need most is you. Spend quality time with them, bringing them up in the nurture and admonition of their Creator. Train up a child in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it. The focus should not be only on material things, they will soon forget those. We were given the ability to bear children so that we could produce Godly offspring to be ambassadors for the Kingdom of God and deliver their gifts to this generation. Stay blessed!

Leave a Reply

